Skip to content ↓

Impington Village College

Science

A Bit About Us

As a core subject we teach Science to all students in the Main School, and a large proportion of the Sixth Form as part of the IB Diploma and Career programmes.

Where We Teach

Science is housed in 2 blocks, dedicated entirely to the subjects. There are 12 fully equipped laboratories, 2 prep-rooms and a science office split between the blocks. Staff can often be found in the shared office (P10) at break or lunchtime.

The ICE programme

Year 7 and 8

There is a strong focus on “Thinking Scientifically”, with each unit of work including at least one extended investigation.

Year 9

This is a foundation year aimed at developing the skills needed for the new GCSEs in the Sciences. We follow the ICE program until February half term and then begin to cover some of the topics common to both GCSE pathways.  In lessons, there is a focus on developing mathematical and practical skills.  At the end of Year 9, we will review progress and choose a starting pathway for each student going into Year 10. 

Years 10 & 11

All students are following the AQA suite of Science GCSEs, either Separate Sciences (three GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry, Physics) or Combined Science: trilogy (two GCSEs).

The specifications are available at: http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/gcse

In addition, some students may complete the Entry Level Certificate: http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/elc

The Team 

Lead Practitioners

Rachael Carrington   rcarrington@ivc.tmet.org.uk

Lead Teachers

   
Rebecca Moore
Jennifer Walker
KS5
KS4
rmoore@ivc.tmet.org.uk
jwalker@ivc.tmet.org.uk

Teachers

   

Fiona Brookes
Sarah Carbonero
Georgina Chivers
Leah Cooper
Samuel Crawford
Yair Doza
Chris Wrigley
Amy Brewer
Gemma Eastham
Christine Martin
Mim Bower
Will Selfe


 

fbrookes@ivc.tmet.org.uk
scarbonero@ivc.tmet.org.uk
gchivers@ivc.tmet.org.uk
lcooper@ivc.tmet.org.uk
scrawford@ivc.tmet.org.uk
ydoza@ivc.tmet.org.uk
cwrigley@ivc.tmet.org.uk
abrewer@ivc.tmet.org.uk
geastham@ivc.tmet.org.uk
cmartin@ivc.tmet.org.uk
mbower@ivc.tmet.org.uk
wselfe@ivc.tmet.org.uk

Lab Staff

   
Sharon Chivers    
Lisa-Marie Stevenson    
Irene Tam
   
     
     

Support Staff

   
Christine Foster   nfoster@ivc.tmet.org.uk
Tom Blow   tblow@ivc.tmet.org.uk
  1. Year 7 Strand 1 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  2. Year 7 Strand 2 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  3. Year 7 Strand 3 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  4. Year 7 Science Strand 4
    PDF File
  5. Year 7 Science Strand 5
    PDF File
  6. Year 8 Strand 1 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  7. Year 8 Strand 2 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  8. Year 8 Strand 3 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  9. Year 8 Science Strand 4
    PDF File
  10. Year 8 Science Strand 5
    PDF File
  11. Year 9 Strand 1 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  12. Year 9 Science Strand 1 Home Learning
    DOCX File
  13. Year 9 Strand 2 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  14. Year 9 Science Strand 2 Home Learning
    DOCX File
  15. Year 9 Strand 3 Science IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  16. Year 9 Science Strand 3 homework proforma
    PDF File
  17. Year 9 Science Strand 4
    PDF File
  18. Year 9 Science Strand 5
    PDF File
  19. Year 10 Physics Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  20. Year 10 Physics Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  21. Year 10 Physics Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  22. Year 10 Biology Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  23. Year 10 Biology Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  24. Year 10 Biology Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  25. Year 10 Chemistry Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  26. Year 10 Chemistry Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  27. Year 10 Chemistry Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  28. Year 10 Science Home Learning
    DOCX File
  29. Year 11 Biology Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  30. Year 11 Biology Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  31. Year 11 Biology Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  32. Year 11 Chemistry Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  33. Year 11 Chemistry Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  34. Year 11 Chemistry Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  35. Year 11 Physics Strand 1 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  36. Year 11 Physics Strand 2 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  37. Year 11 Physics Strand 3 IVC Curriculum Overview
    DOCX File
  38. Year 11 Science Home Learning
    DOCX File