Skip to content ↓

Impington Village College

Mathematics

mathematicsA Bit About Us

The Maths Department at Impington Village College is successful and ambitious. It is staffed by dedicated, experienced and enthusiastic mathematicians. We aim to deliver a relevant curriculum that encompasses all aspects of everyday life and also to support fully, those wishing to develop their skills at higher level.

Our commitment is to excellent teaching and learning, to ensure that mathematics is enjoyable, interesting and accessible for all pupils, regardless of ability.

kblockmathsWhere We Teach

The faculty is housed in a recently built block shared with the English department. There are a total of nine maths classrooms, each of which has a PC and a data projector, as well as a roller whiteboard. All classrooms now have SMART boards and it is the intention to furnish all classes with interactive boards. There is also a cafe-style canteen in the block where students and staff can purchase sandwiches and cakes.

 

Years 7 to 9 ICE Programme

ICEAt Key Stage 3 students follow an innovative Mathematics Curriculum which takes inspiration from the very successful mathematics teaching in Shanghai. Students make frequent use of concrete manipulatives to develop a solid mathematical understanding. All lessons involve collaborative work and problem solving where everyone is encouraged to describe, explain and justify the mathematics that they discover and use. Students are given the opportunity to explore and master topics at a deep level before they move on.

Years 10 and 11findx

As students approach their final GCSE exam they continue to learn through problem solving and investigation, whilst applying their knowledge to the specific requirements of the GCSE exam specification. Students who excel in year 10 are given the opportunity to study towards the OCR Additional Mathematics Free Standing Maths Qualification in year 11. This is a Level 3 course which will give both UCAS points and a solid basis for further study of mathematics in Sixth Form.

Home Learning Pledges

ICE (Year 7 & 8) - 1 Task per week, maximum of 1 Hour

Key Stage 4 (Years 9, 10 & 11) - 1 task per week maximum 90 minutes

The Team 

   

Vice Principal

 
Victoria Hearn vhearn@impington.cambs.sch.uk

Lead Practitioner

 
Sian Mawditt smawditt@impington.cambs.sch.uk

Lead Teacher

 
Paul Thompson pthompson@impington.cambs.sch.uk

Head of KS5

 
Bronwyn Wilson bwilson@impington.cambs.sch.uk

Teachers

 
Sarah Carbonero
Manisha Chopra
Brian Greer
Roland Lewis
Ceri Johnson
Olivia Edgerton
Thelma Odoi
Teresa Morabito
Livia Mitson
David Chetcuti-Ganado
scarbonero@impington.cambs.sch.uk
mchopra@impington.cambs.sch.uk
bgreer@impington.cambs.sch.uk
rlewis@impington.cambs.sch.uk
cjohnson@impington.cambs.sch.uk
oedgerton@impington.cambs.sch.uk
todoi@impington.cambs.sch.uk
tmorabito@impington.cambs.sch.uk
lmitson@impington.cambs.sch.uk
dchetcuti-ganado@impington.cambs.sch.uk

Support Staff

 
Jan Carver
Adil Kahn
jcarver@impington.cambs.sch.uk
mkahn@impinton.cambs.sch.uk 

studentleaderscropStudent Leaders

The department is supported by two student leaders from Year 11, who can often be found supporting enrichment activities, trips and investigations.